ANNE GATSCHET

President. Anne Gatschet is a Kansas City based consultant for arts and educational nonprofits. She has decades of experience teaching the arts and language arts in elementary, secondary and college classrooms. She has professional experience in academic publishing, literary translation and bilingual lexicography. She holds a Bachelor Degree in Latin American Literature, (NYU) and a Masters in Comparative Literature (UC, Berkeley). She recently completed an Executive Masters in Public Administration at UMKC’s Bloch School of Management, focusing on nonprofit management and arts-based learning. Anne was raised in rural Missouri, lived much of her life in and around New York City and now lives with her family in Kansas City. 

    José Faus


José Faus

Program Chair. Jose Faus is an artist and writer. He is a 2012 Rocket Grant recipient for the community project VOX NAVARRO, and is a founding member of the Latino Writers Collective. His writing has appeared in many anthologies, including Primera Pagina: Poetry from the Latino Heartland; Cuentros del Centro: Stories from the Latino Heartland; Raritan; Whirlybird; Luces y Sombras; and I-70 Review. His book This Town Like That is part of Prospero’s Pop Poetry Series. He maintains a studio in downtown KCK, and his murals can be seen all over Kansas City.


 Teresa Leggard

Teresa Leggard

Teresa Leggard is a writer, editor, poet, and playwright. She earned her BA in English from Spelman College, and her MFA in Creative Writing and Media Arts from UMKC. Her work appears in a number of journals, including Number One; Aunt Chloe; Reverie, a Midwest Journal of African-American Literature; and Bear Review. Her short plays have been selected and produced for theater festivals in Missouri, Kansas, and Washington D.C.



 George Hendon

George Hendon

George Hendon was born and raised in Louisville, KY. He graduated from Union College with a degree in Government and Economics, and studied Public Administration at Columbia University. While not a published author, he has spent most of his career writing and editing management guides and training programs for the Home Office of New York Life and the Federal Aviation Administration. He retired after nearly 43 years, and received the Federal Lifetime Achievement Award in 2007. He now spends his time traveling with his wife, Sue; painting; and writing or editing as opportunities arise.

A Kansas City native, Felicia Medellin has over 15 years of non-profit leadership experience at both national and international levels. She has a BA in Sociology and Spanish from UMKC, and in 2011 she was chosen as one of 15 Lideres Hispanos by the Spanish Embassy. From 2008-2015, she managed the Escalera program of the National Council of La Raza, the organization's highly successful college- and career-readiness program. Deeply focused on education, she now works for PREP-KC, and serves in volunteer leadership positions across the Midwest. She also enjoys sports, travel, and karaoke.



Angela Brees is a former aircraft mechanic turned word nerd. With more than 20 years of military service, she serves as a captain with the 190th Air Refueling Wing in the Kansas Air National Guard. Angela served nearly six years active duty in the U.S. Navy as a jet engine and fuel systems mechanic before attending college at the University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg, Mo., majoring in public relations. A 2016 Centurion, Angela spends most of her free time with her supportive husband Todd and young son, Macaiden. She currently serves as the deputy director for the Office of Public Affairs with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region 7.

Founding Board

Claire Ann Arnold

Bunni & Paul Copaken

Hallmark Cards, Inc.

William H. & Gloria Hickok

Arthur & Pinky Kase

Nancy & Phil Miller

Ann Slegman

Robert Stewart

David Stickelber

Honorary Advisors 

Robert Bly

James Gunn

Michael S. Harper

Vivien Jennings

R. Crosby Kemper, III

Candice Millard

David Owen

Judy Ray

Richard Rhodes

Linda Talbott

Whitney Terrell

Calvin Trillin

Emeritus Board

Sydney Backstrom

Bill Bauer

Betsy Beasley

Craig Chance

Charles Ferruzza

Tina Hacker

Gloria Vando Hickok

Pinky Kase

Patricia Cleary Miller

Nancy Miller

LaDene Morton

Susan Peters

Trish Reeves

Ann Slegman

Alarie Tennille

Maryfrances Wagner

Jeanie Wilson